Interview with Goldie Holland

It’s time for another interview, this time with Goldie Holland! She’s a lovely cosplayer from Alabama, who has lots of costumes planned for the future!

Goldie Holland in her Luna hoodie by Amber Clark, photo by Stephanie Blackwell

Goldie Holland in her Luna hoodie by Amber Clark, photo by Stephanie Blackwell

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
For the longest time I used Luna Tsukou, but I changed it to Goldie Holland. I use Goldie Holland because Goldie is now my nickname and Holland is my mother’s maiden name. If it fits, it sits!

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I started in 2006 on a really bad Sailor Jupiter costume. I had my grandmother to help. I don’t even have a picture of it anymore.

Goldie Holland as Espada Orihime from Bleach, photo by Eurobeat King

Goldie Holland as Espada Orihime from Bleach, photo by Eurobeat King

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Learning to sew was my biggest thing. I have always wanted to sew in case the world blew up and we had to make our own clothes again.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I want to do some Studio Ghibli costumes. I am going to do a Kiki’s Delivery Service one in the near future and Spirited Away soon.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Well done make-up and wig styling. I have seen some really good costumes but the make-up and hair were just awful. I want to work on doing stage make-up. I have this mad mouth zombie face paint I did for Halloween. I want to work on it and make it look ten times better.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I have met some amazing people in this scene but there is that one dark side of the scene. People think they can be mean and snarky. That’s the side I don’t like.

Goldie Holland in an original horror make-up

Goldie Holland in an original horror make-up

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Be kind to one another and help out each other.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Just go with it. If you mess up try again. Use old random ugly fabric for your mocks.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Katsucon, because I have met some of my friends there that I still talk to today. AWA is where I met my husband. We try to go every year. We are skipping 2013 for Disney World for a second honeymoon. 😄

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My Queen Serenity dress, which sadly I don’t have anymore because she was ruined in a fire. But she will make her return hopefully in the future as Neo Queen Serenity with Princess Small Lady, if I have a little girl, or Helios if we have a boy. 😄

Goldie Holland as Queen Serenity from Sailor Moon, photo by Pat Gavin

Goldie Holland as Queen Serenity from Sailor Moon, photo by Pat Gavin

Thanks for the interview, Goldie Holland! If you’d like to see more of her work, you can go to her Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

