Interview with Kaze~

It’s time for another interview, this time with Kaze~! She’s a talented cosplayer from Washington, who has a love of craft foam!

Kaze~ as  an original character Kodona Lolita Fashion, photo by Red Envelope Photograhy

Kaze~ as an original character Kodona Lolita Fashion, photo by Red Envelope Photograhy

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Kaze~. In Japanese, Kaze means wind and I just always liked the way it sounded when I heard it in anime or Japanese dramas. The wind is free and flows whenever it wants to and as a cosplayer, I’m free to express my favorite characters and bring them to life as I want to. : )

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying for about 4 years now. I started cosplaying after going to my first anime convention in 2008 where I saw great cosplayers portraying my favorite characters and I thought it would be fun to try out. I did and I’m loving it. ❤

Kaze~ as Len from Vocaloid, photo by Zee Design and Photography

Kaze~ as Len from Vocaloid, photo by Zee Design and Photography

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
My favorite thing to work with when cosplaying is craft foam. 😀 I can use it for the accessories and prop making process. It’s cheap, easy to use, and very convenient.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Recently, I started making props and I really enjoy it and hope to make even better weapons as I improve slowly. In the future, I hope I can make more detailed props to play with. :3

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love cosplayers that portray a character’s personality really well in a photo by the way they pose, and their expressions. I enjoy seeing when cosplayers are really detailed when making or choosing the right costume because it shows they took the time to be as perfect as they can to the character they are cosplaying. I admire many cosplayers, but the two that I really enjoy to see cosplaying are Japanese cosplayers Reika and Kaname. They both always make great expressions for their characters in photos and always look flawless no matter what character they chose to portray.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
To me I think the “cosplay scene” is fun but it’s no different from reality. It’s great that I can meet people with the same interest and hobby as me. However, there will always people that will make you wonder why they give cosplay everywhere a bad name.

Kaze~ as Toshiro Hitsugaya from Bleach, photo by Toshiyasu Morita

Kaze~ as Toshiro Hitsugaya from Bleach, photo by Toshiyasu Morita

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I hope that in the future less cosplayers will take the opinions of what others think about them to heart. When you cosplay it shouldn’t be about impressing others. I cosplay to have fun and because it’s a place I can escape from reality, but when people try to ruin my fun by insulting me or other cosplayers for not being perfect it saddens me. A hobby is supposed to be enjoyable; no one should be put down about not looking right or something dumb. I would love to see more people just cosplaying and caring less about impressing a crowd that will either always like you or hate you.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
A new cosplayer should first try making simple costumes, then if they feel that their skills are advanced enough go on to making harder things. It’s easier to be good at making simple things than trying to make something big when you have no prior experience. Unless you plan to buy your costumes than this can be overlooked.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
My favorite and only convention I have gone to is Sakura-Con and I love it. They always invite guests that I want to see and the cosplays are always amazing to me. : )

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I love the bustle skirt that I made for my Ciel Smile costume from Black Butler because I think it looks really cute. : )

Kaze~ as Kaito from Vocaloid, photo by Zen Chang Photography

Kaze~ as Kaito from Vocaloid, photo by Zen Chang Photography

Thanks for the interview, Kaze~! If you’d like to see more of her work, you can go to her Deviantart, her Facebook page, and her World Cosplay account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Kaze~

  1. Mike says:

    Hello,
    I Like your Blog very much ( sorry vor the bad english) i Like this cosplay outfits, and I am a Fan of Anime series ( i think that one goes not witout the other 🙂 ) but i think i dont hafe the abiliti for good coseply, anyway i have a coseplay section in my new blog in hope that other people show their abilitiy, but i zhink in germany coseplay is not so populare

    • Yunie says:

      It’s popular there, but from what I’ve gathered with collecting interviews, they’re not nearly as outspoken as other countries about the hobby. 😀

Leave a Reply

