Interview with Yamisukoru

It’s time for another interview, this time with Yamisukoru! He’s a long-time cosplayer from Washington, who tends to go for big projects!

Yamisukoru out of costume, working on his Iron Man cosplay

Yamisukoru out of costume, working on his Iron Man cosplay

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I don’t have a cosplay alias, but I have a nickname and it’s Yamisukoru. How I came to it was back in high school where it started as Darksquall but I got bored of it and someone suggested I translate that into Japanese. :p

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I started cosplaying during a Halloween party where my dad helped me make my first cosplay costume, Sub Zero. So I can say I’ve been doing it for 20 years now.

Yamisukoru as Leon Kennedy from Resident Evil

Yamisukoru as Leon Kennedy from Resident Evil

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I like making props; my first prop was the MA5 Assault Rifle from Halo 1. It makes me feel awesome to hold something that came from a video game, anime, or movie.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I am currently working on my Iron Man Mark 7 cosplay and I can’t wait to see how it will be when finished. After I’m done with that, I want to make my own Batman costume because it’s time that I make one instead of buying premade clothing that I can mod into the costume.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Becoming an iconic character that makes fans happy, especially the kids. For example, they see Batman in person or Superman or Mario or Link.

Yamisukoru as Master Chief from Halo

Yamisukoru as Master Chief from Halo

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
People judging people negatively on their cosplay because they don’t have the right body, skin tone, hair color, or race. I see some cosplay that makes me go “Really?” But I also see that you’re cool and brave to do it. Its more fun when some do admit the flaws like me I’ll say “Yeah I’m the Asian version of this character”, or “Yep I’m the character in his after years”. Everyone should have fun.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Take your time with your cosplay, work on it, even if you don’t make your deadline don’t rush because there will always be a next time. That way your cosplay will look fabulous. Always shop for the best and money saving material, ask for tips and trades and don’t be stuck up about “Well I use this because this is the best material and you should use it too” attitude. Have an open mind.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I love attending Sakura Con, Emerald City Comic Con and PAX Prime. Home state conventions I can afford to attend, lol!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I don’t always make my own costume because they are hard to make or I don’t have the space to safely make it, like my Robocop costume. 😀

Yamisukoru as Robocop from the Robocop series

Yamisukoru as Robocop from the Robocop series

Thanks for the interview, Yamisukoru! Hope to see you at a con soon!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

