Interview with Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco

It’s time for another interview, this time with Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco! She’s a creative cosplayer from Oregon, who enjoys the hobby for the fun it brings!

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco out of costume

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I haven’t decided on my cosplay alias, but people either know me as Colleen, Vampire-Kameko, or BronyCoco. The first is my name, the second was my Japanese Club name I picked in highschool, and the last is a mix of one of my favorite fandoms, and my nickname to my nieces and nephews.:) Not very special, but I’ll come up with something when I hit it big!

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for five years, and it was actually because one of my friends dropped out of going to a convention with her friends, so they asked me to go instead. I had no idea what cosplay was at that point but I am sooooo happy they picked me! It is one of the best experiences a person can have~!

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco as a Banana

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco as a Banana

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I haven’t really made my own costumes, but one time I did work with fleece, paint, and bouncy balls when I made the accessories for my Yui (Don’t Say LAZY) cosplay. I definitely want to get into making my own costumes though, because I would love to be able to say that I made the costume I’m wearing, and get that satisfaction.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m planning on making an Ultimate Madoka cosplay in the future, once I’ve honed what little skills I have. At that point I will probably go with a soft but sturdy fabric, and definitely going to need some form of wire. AS LONG AS THE FABRIC IS NOT SHINY.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I like to see others in costumes made with fabrics in simple colors, not ones where they go out of their way to make it brighter than the character actually wears. It just throws me through a loop. The people, who do this right, are of course, my cosplay idols, of which I have many. ❤

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think that the cosplay scene can be crazy but sophisticated at the same time. People can take both of these things way too far, so it really depends on who you’re hanging out with. I’m more of a have fun, but still try your very best to be in character (even though I suck at it) type of cosplayer, and those are the kinds of people I enjoy at cons, and that’s also how I view the cosplay scene.

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco in an Owl Kigurumi

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco in an Owl Kigurumi

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I’d like to see some things calm down, but still stay fun. I pretty much like the cosplay scene as it is, but people can get pretty crazy when it comes to cosplay.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Have fun with it! As long as you’re having fun doing what you’re doing, you will get an awesome confidence boost, make lots of friends, and continue to love cosplay for years to come! I know I have!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Sadly, I’ve only attended a couple, but my favorite so far is Kumoricon. I’m hoping to be able to branch out to Sakuracon this next year and I’m actually going to Newcon, a convention having its first year at the end of December. Who knows, it could be my new favorite~! 😀

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My very first cosplay was a genderbent Matt from Death Note. It was thrown together very last minute because it was right before coming to my first convention, but it was the year of Death Note, so everybody loved it. It gave me the greatest confidence boost of my life and everybody knew who I was! Needless to say, I felt awesome for months after that. So I’m very proud of that costume. The same is true for my Rainbow Dash costume, I love it so much, and I’m proud that I was able to actually put it together all on my own~!

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco as Rainbow Dash from My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco as Rainbow Dash from My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

Thanks for the interview, Vampire-Kameko/BronyCoco! You can see more of her work at her Cosplay.com account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

