Interview with Beckinbits

It’s time for another interview, this time with Beckinbits! She’s a talented cosplayer from Washington, who has made some beautiful costumes!

Beckinbits out of costume, photo by Molly McIsaac

Beckinbits out of costume, photo by Molly McIsaac

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I go by Beckinbits. It’s a name that one of my old coworkers gave to me right around the time I started to cosplay. No real reason why I use it now, but my unquenchable love of puns and bacon did make it easy to choose.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been doing cosplay for about 5 or 6 years now. It started when a large group of friends decided that, hey, we’re going to Sakura-con, and you should TOTALLY come. Now, I had not been to a convention before, and I really wanted to check it all out. I did a simple Nana Osaki closet cosplay and, once I got there, I saw all these amazing, elaborate and gorgeous cosplays. I knew that I had to be one of them.

Beckinbits as Twisted Pocahontas from Disney, photo by Kindra Nikole Photography

Beckinbits as Twisted Pocahontas from Disney, photo by Kindra Nikole Photography

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
All aspects of it are great, but specifically planning out my cosplays is definitely the most fun. I try to take a costume and I try to adapt it to how it would look like translated from paper to cloth. What fabrics would you historically use, what would a person who spent their entire life in the wild would look like, how much more detailed would a princess crown look like, etc. It’s taking that idea of the character, embodying it and elaborating it to fit the character and you.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I’m a big fan of video game cosplays and my next one will be Viola from Soul Calibur 5. The challenge rating for me on that costume is very high because it has me tackling something I have never done before (or anyone else, no my knowledge); making her floating orb actually float and light up.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Pikmin Link is one of my favorite cosplayers because I see her put an insane amount of detail into the costumes that she does; not only embodying the character that she is cosplaying, but adapting it to real life. That is what I aspire to do and I try to make it my goal in my cosplay. You can embody a character not just through method acting. When a person takes your photo, and you see the image and realize that you not only did a great job on the costume, but your body language, your expressions, the way you carry yourself is translated into the photograph; that’s when you know you’re doing it right. And she does that to a T.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
The cosplay scene is like….one big high school. Its different groups of people all getting together, all having the same general interest but everyone has something they like and something they don’t. A group of people they like and a group they don’t. The regular closet cosplayers give the elaborate cosplayers issues because they believe that they’re doing it for the attention and not for the character, while the elaborate cosplayers hate the closets because they think they’re jealous. The veterans who run around in some insane piece for a couple hours, then change and hang out with other veterans talking about the old days, droves of lolitas giving everyone the once over, and then everyone pretending the Homestuckers don’t exist.
Now, everyone can say “oh, that’s not how conventions are”. But don’t believe for a second that someone isn’t saying something about you, your cosplay, what you’re cosplaying, how you’re cosplaying it, etc. I know it happens, and continue to not care about it.

Beckinbits as Luka from Vocaloid, photo by Molly McIsaac

Beckinbits as Luka from Vocaloid, photo by Molly McIsaac

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
More acceptance of other people and their willingness to cosplay. I’ve seen it, especially at comic conventions, where someone will give you a once over in your cosplay and then try to quiz you, making sure you know the character you’re cosplaying. >.> Just more respect in general, especially to people just starting out would be great. I can’t tell you the things I heard from people trying to talk about my 12 year old cousin’s Miku cosplay behind her back.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Be confident. Give yourself one convention, usually your first, to gauge what cosplay is REALLY about; its time, effort, work, cuts, burns, etc. It’s an investment that could be expensive. But once you finish it and wear it, its one of the best and most liberating feelings in the world.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I attend different conventions for different reasons. ECCC to do art, promote my work and do some light cosplay. It’s my favorite in respect to the amount of children that are there and I love to see their little reactions. Sakuracon is for my cousins, whom I bring every year; they’re 16 and 13 now. Sakuracon for me is a change to give them a good, inside view of conventions, help them make connections and friends; basically to take over for me if and when I get sick of cosplaying. PAX is for more simple cosplays for me, but I have the opportunity to cosplay any of my favorite video game characters (which make up a very large basis of my cosplays).

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My Sakura cosplay cost me $6 to make and 3 days at 4 hours a day.

Beckinbits as San from Princess Mononoke, photo by Molly McIsaac

Beckinbits as San from Princess Mononoke, photo by Molly McIsaac

Thanks for the interview, Beckinbits! Hope to see you at a convention sometime soon!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

