Photographer Interview with Martin Wong

Martin Wong is an amazing photographer from the United States, who captures gorgeous images that suit each costume perfectly well!

Martin Wong

Martin Wong

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
It’s hard to say when I actually started photography; I am majorly influenced by my artistic parents but I only started cosplay photography about a year and half ago.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
I live in the west coast of United States, but I sometimes travel out of state for some cosplay events. I don’t charge to shoot cosplay because it is mostly a hobby for me. People can contact me via Facebook or email me (MW@MartinWongPhoto.com).

Yaya Han as Ame-Comi Wonder Woman from DC Comics, photo by Martin Wong

Yaya Han as Ame-Comi Wonder Woman from DC Comics, photo by Martin Wong

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I like shooting individual photoshoots, because I get to spend more time to learn about the person.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
My favorite equipment is shooting with wireless flash triggers, because they allow me to shoot pictures with creative lightings.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
This is a difficult question for me because currently the cosplay scene is changing a lot. Given that it is constantly changing, but lately seems to be capricious. I do, however, see the cosplay scene continue expanding, and that could bring exciting news.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I really enjoy seeing other photographers being sociable; it is a trait that makes them seem more approachable.

Kasea VP as Skarlet from Mortal Kombat, photo by Martin Wong

Kasea VP as Skarlet from Mortal Kombat, photo by Martin Wong

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
The “cosplay scene” is no longer of people wearing clothes of their favorite characters. It has become an interactive social group that is continuing to grabbing others’ attentions. The cosplay scene is also starting to attract a lot major medium and industries.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I think I would enjoy the scene more if people have a better mutual understand of what the scene actually is. Regardless of what the “scene” actually is, there should be common ground for both cosplayers and photographers.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
Always continue to shoot and do not fear to ask others for advice. Try to spend more time studying what pictures grab your attention and try to mimic it, eventually, one can develop a style of his/her own.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I really enjoy Fanime because of the atmosphere and accessibilities to other nearby businesses. Sakuracon has a great location and is very well organized.

Precious Cosplay as Moonstone from Marvel Comics, photo by Martin Wong

Precious Cosplay as Moonstone from Marvel Comics, photo by Martin Wong

Thanks for the interview, Martin Wong! To check out his work and contact him for a shoot, you can check out his Facebook page!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photographer Interview with Martin Wong

Leave a Reply

