Interview with Loz Link/Seattle Link

It’s time for another interview, this time with Loz Link/Seattle Link! He’s a newer cosplayer from Washington, who has an amazing range of costumes!

Loz Link/Seattle Link out of costume

Loz Link/Seattle Link out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
I have 2 actually, I am known in the field as Loz Link and the Seattle Link. Loz Link came into being because at the time I was following Pikmin Link’s work, still do XD, and I realized most people have an alias in this field. The Seattle Link nickname came from people seeing me dressed up and walking around all over the place from Snohomish to Auburn.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been in cosplay for 2 years. I fell into it backwards because a very close friend of mine died. A DEATH pulled me into cosplaying.

Loz Link/Seattle Link as Link from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

Loz Link/Seattle Link as Link from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Research, character designs, and building. I like discovering every aspect of the outfit. Then the building is stressfully invigorating.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
If you are asking about cosplays in the works, I always have several in process and several still on the drawing board. I get bored, I truly do. So brainstorming, building and finalizing seem to ease that constant boredom. In fact, the running joke is to not let me get bored or strange things happen/are built.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Goodness me that’s a hard question. Costumes are like people; they come in all different shapes and sizes. I believe a person who loves the character they are cosplaying does best in their cosplay. It’s the heart behind the cosplay that makes it shine.

Loz Link/Seattle Link as Jareth from Labyrinth, photo by Adam L. Photography

Loz Link/Seattle Link as Jareth from Labyrinth, photo by Adam L. Photography

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
Depends on the event. As I attend a lot of different ones, I watch more for the cosplays, but there is drama, so I avoid that. I interact with everyone, and thoroughly enjoy being part of this history in the making, because really that’s what it is here in the states. Japan is already made such ground breaking way for us, and in turn we can share the love through our cosplays.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Less events where there are huge cliques and no one interacts, more events where there is just the most amazing get together of cosplays and cosplayers. I wish some events could be more like a con.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Cosplay because you have fun with it. Ignore the bad and enjoy the good feedback. Always believe it’s the first time you’re cosplaying; be brave, have fun, and be a little shy.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Norwescon, Akicon, and Rennasaince faires, because they are the only ones I’ve been able to attend thus far. But I truly enjoy the cosplays, the panels and the lack of sleep. 😄

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My first one was made in 2 hours, hand sewn, right before my friend’s wake, and I had no idea what I was doing. I am proud of all my cosplays.

Loz Link/Seattle Link as Puss from Puss in Boots fairytale, photo by Cliff Nordman

Loz Link/Seattle Link as Puss from Puss in Boots fairytale, photo by Cliff Nordman

Thanks for the interview, Loz Link/Seattle Link! To see more of his work, you can check out his Facebook page and his Deviantart!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

