Interview with The Toriachan

It’s time for another interview, this time with The Toriachan! She’s a long-time cosplayer from Tennessee, who has quite the assortment of costume!

The Toriachan as Saix from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

The Toriachan as Saix from Kingdom Hearts, photo by Firebird Photography

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
The Toriachan, Shachou, Mansex, and Haruka. I cosplay so much, especially the characters I’m called. I’m known all over the world, having been published in magazines.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
15 years, and I love anime and video games. I thought it would be interesting to dress as someone else, and explore character and attitudes.

The Toriachan as Die from Dir en Grey

The Toriachan as Die from Dir en Grey

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I love making weapons. I think it adds to the costume the most. You see the wig, you know who it is. Also, I love designing and hand-sewing wigs. They are essential to a perfect cosplay.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
This year I did Saix, and it was a blast. I have several photoshoots coming up, especially Jack Frost and Saix-puppy. Organization XIII is so much fun. You can cosplay the characters alone and everyone comes together.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Wigs and weapons, I think I do a wonderful job, but there are so many people who are absolutely wonderful. I love to see perfection, down to the last detail.

The Toriachan as Rufus from Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

The Toriachan as Rufus from Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
There are elitist, annoying people, who judge individuals by their cosplay. Some people work very hard and are first-time cosplayers. People should respect that others have the guts to do cosplay in the first place.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Elitism.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Pay attention to the details. Sometimes they can be the most important thing in a costume. And have fun!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Anime Central, Otakon, and Yaoi-con. I also love first year cons since people put so much work into them. People travel long distances for anime conventions.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
My Xemnas wig. It was hand-sewn and I used wig pins to make it beautiful.

The Toriachan as Xemnas from Kingdom Hearts

The Toriachan as Xemnas from Kingdom Hearts

Thanks for the interview, The Toriachan! Hope to see you at a convention sometime soon!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

