Interview with YunaAngelz Cosplay

It’s time for another interview, this time with YunaAngelz Cosplay! She’s a newer cosplayer from Canada, who has several awesome costumes planned for the future!

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Cristina Vespucci from Assassin's Creed 2, photo by Ted Sali

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Cristina Vespucci from Assassin’s Creed 2, photo by Ted Sali

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
YunaAngelz Cosplay; Yuna came from my very first cosplay that I had gotten made for me and Angelz came from my other account name at one time.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I have been cosplaying since October 2010. My friend I went to high school with invited me to a convention and I saw everyone dressed up and knew I wanted to be part of the cosplay world.

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Momo from Bleach, photo by Ted Sali

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Momo from Bleach, photo by Ted Sali

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I don’t work on constructing my own costumes as I don’t have the talent, knowledge of fabrics, sewing machines, and everything that would be required to make a cosplay, so I have them made for me.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
My surprise cosplay planned for Ai-Kon 2013 because it’s something I have wanted to do since 1998, but didn’t know of the cosplay world at that time. As for future cosplays, I am looking forward to Cinderella & Prince Charming because I have always wanted to be a Disney princess and feel like a real princess when I get the cosplay. It is planned for 2014.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
Portraying the person as they’re dressed up to be, playing the role right as if they were born for it, and just being all around a great person to be around. The best person I have seen this done by is A Living Fairytale.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
My view is that it’s something that everyone could do if given the chance and have an open eye to the cosplay world. Yeah, I thought it was weird at one time, but now I love it because it’s something I love.

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Cristina Vespucci from Assassin's Creed 2, photo by DROO Photographer

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Cristina Vespucci from Assassin’s Creed 2, photo by DROO Photographer

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Peoples’ views of cosplayers outside and inside the cosplay world to give us more respect where it is due, not to just sit there and criticize us for being different and unique, but for one to look what it is like to be in our shoes.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
I would say “Be cautious, don’t worry about anything negative you may hear or see someone saying about you, be something you think you can pull off getting into this at first, then do something you would love to be. Most important, have fun and always smile!”

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
Ai-Kon has to be my most favorite because it’s the biggest convention where I live and you always see everyone dressed up in cosplay the second day of it. The things you see sometimes amaze you and get you wanting to smile even more to get more pictures taken of yourself in cosplay.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Christina Vespucci; It may look like one full layer but it is not. It’s a three layer cosplay. Each color is a different layer, and in summer it can be quite warm to wear it outside, but it’s nice for winter photos and I have no idea how to clean it if it ever gets dirty.

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Cristina Vespucci from Assassin's Creed 2, photo by Ted Sali

YunaAngelz Cosplay as Cristina Vespucci from Assassin’s Creed 2, photo by Ted Sali

Thanks for the interview, YunaAngelz Cosplay! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart, her Facebook page, her Cosplay.com page, her SocialCos page, and her WordPress!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

