Photographer Interview with Rae

Rae is a cosplayer and photographer from Taiwan, who enjoys one on one photoshoots to get those ideal pictures!

Rae as Tamiya from Litchi Hikari Club

Rae as Tamiya from Litchi Hikari Club

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
I have been doing cosplay photography a bit longer than I have been cosplaying, haha. I’ve been taking photos ever since I started attending conventions which is probably back in 2009? Despite that, I don’t think I am very skilled yet and I am still learning more photography techniques to improve.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
I have never done any shooting outside of Taiwan, so it’s all done here. I never charge because I don’t feel like it is necessary to earn anything for something that I only do for a few hours once in a while. I have a Deviantart and a local Taiwanese blog where I post both my own cosplay photos and my con photos. So they can contact me there to take photos and such.

Manami as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by Rae

Manami as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by Rae

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I prefer photoshoots outside of cons, because cons are always so crowded and the courtyard is not the prettiest place. Plus cosplayers can give me their full attention when it’s one-on-one and it’s easier for me to get pictures they want.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
I use my trustworthy DSLR Nikon for all photoshoots and cons. I personally don’t like having extra equipment because carrying around extra stuff slows me down. One camera suffices for me!

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I generally look forward to any con so I can see all the amazing cosplayers!

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I really like to see photographers communicate with the cosplayer because it is important that the photographer can create a good rapport so that neither of them feels awkward. This way, the photographer can tell the cosplayer what angles look best and ask them to move if necessary. My photographer, SGloveJacky, is a great photographer who has done 3 photoshoots for me already and he is super friendly but also tells me when my legs look funky or something (Check out his works here). Communication is key!

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
The cosplay scene and the cosplay photography scene are drastically different, surprisingly. Taiwanese photographers consist mostly of males and rarely any females, so they tend to focus on the female cosplayers (not crossplayers) and the more experienced ones. Furthermore, they don’t really talk to the cosplayers so it gets kinda awkward at times. I feel like it is a great pity that crossplayers and beginner cosplayers here do not receive as much attention so I try to get photos of everyone of all skill level.

NINI as Genderbend Rin from Blue Exorcist, photo by Rae

NINI as Genderbend Rin from Blue Exorcist, photo by Rae

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would really like to see more female photographers just because diversity in the cosplay and cosplay photography culture is great!

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
Getting super professional or advanced cameras are not really necessary. As long as you get your angles and the lighting down, you can further develop your skills from there. Also always have some sort of photo editing program/website at hand. Cosplayers like to touch up so it’d be nice to help them do a bit beforehand!

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I’ve really only been to ones local in Taiwan and never attended any outside of my country. The ones I attend include Comic World Taiwan, Petit Frontier, Fancy Frontier, etc., which are also my favorite ones. There are a LOT of cosplayers, especially during Comic World Taiwan, because that is held during summer and I just love seeing so many different cosplayers and people of the same interest gather.

Soragy as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by Rae

Soragy as Miku from Vocaloid, photo by Rae

Thanks for the interview, Rae! To check out her work and contact her for a shoot, you can check out her Deviantart, her Tumblr, and her blog!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

