Interview with Abominor Reaper

It’s time for another interview, this time with Abominor Reaper! He’s a newer cosplayer from California, who loves the camaraderie of the cosplay community!

Abominor Reaper in his original costume

Abominor Reaper in his original costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
Abominor Reaper, as I believe in being an abomination and I love grim reapers; I have 2 tattooed on my chest. I am a Metal Head too. THRASH TIL DEATH!

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
Two years I have been cosplaying and being accepted for once in a long while. The AC got me more into it. I can be myself, being crazy, awkward, weird, etc. Creative, like-minded people are my kind of people.

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
Gathering materials to look all tactical, mercenary-like, psycho, and so forth because I want to dress that way all day, everyday.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
Using cosplay to help cope with my struggles, pain, mind, and life.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
So many… but off the top of my head, Akana-Chan, Aja Doll, Nadine Nightmare, Vampy, Jessica Nigri, Yaya Han, and so many I can’t name right now.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
My views on the cosplay scene are wonderful, creative, amazing, sick with it, freedom, loving, caring, and “I LOVE IT, AYE” (IN A YOUNG JEEZY VOICE).

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
Nothing just more amazement, creativity, more fun, screw this competition stuff.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Be yourself, be inspired, don’t be shy, don’t let the negativity screw you over and use it as motivation, get advice, etc.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
AX! I met some of my BFFs there. ALA for partying, meeting people, BFFs there too, felt at home, smaller than AX, many things to do, they have a piano, a pool, jacuzzi, the staff are nice and caring!

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
Helped me cope with myself, without it I’m worried of what would have happened if I never knew of cosplay and the AC.

Abominor Reaper in his original costume

Abominor Reaper in his original costume

Thanks for the interview, Abominor Reaper! Hope to see you at a convention sometime in the future!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

