Cause-play: Cosplaying for Charity

While there is an actual Cause-play group that does charity work, they’re only a small part of an all-encompassing idea. A lot of cosplayers, including myself, are now starting to really turn their craft into charity work.

I haven’t done a lot of charity work, but I’ve put in some hours and visits, whether to hospitals or big events sponsored by companies. I’ve been very lucky to get to know some amazing people, whether children, cosplayers, or workers. There’s a lot of cosplayers out there who have put in an insane amount of time to charity work (I’m looking at you, Mr. Knightmage), and many people are questioning the reasoning behind it.

First and foremost, if you’re in it for the fame, please check those priorities. I did my first charity event with friends and had a blast with them and interacting with the children that attended. My second one was a visit to a pediatric ICU in a children’s hospital, and seeing the kids smile and get to interact with their favorite heroes was amazing. Since then, I get more excited going to these events than most conventions because I know I get to brighten someone’s day by getting to revel in being a nerd. It’s definitely become my new motivation for the hobby.

So, if you’re feeling a bit down with your cosplay, let me suggest checking out local superhero charity groups, such as Heroes Alliance and West Coast Avengers. See if they have openings in your area. Go to a few events with them and see if it becomes a new motivation. I know it definitely has for me.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

