Dealing with the Post-Con Blues

I figured I’d make another article on something I know the entire community deals with after every convention simply known as “Post-Con Blues” or “Post-Con Depression”. I know I deal with it every time I do an event, even if I just attend for a single day!

I fully admit I’m pretty introverted on a daily basis, but I allow my inner extrovert to fly at conventions. After they’re over, I’m not sure what to do, especially if it’s the only time I get to see certain friends each year.. Or, over yearly spans in some cases. I try to always reach out the following weekend after the con, either to friends in town for a dinner meet-up, or I try to set up a Skype night to see the out-of-towners. Doing these quick communications helps me get back into the normal swing of friends without feeling like a hermit.

I also plunge right back into projects, whether they be cosplay-related or otherwise. It helps me stay focused on things to keep my mind from dwelling too much on being sad that I’m not around my friends in a convention setting. Sometimes even setting up a photoshoot day helps me out, moreso when I reach out to friends to join in!

I’m not saying my ways of coping with post-con blues are the only way to go, as everyone deals with things differently. So, how do you guys deal with it? Comment below!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dealing with the Post-Con Blues

  1. Planning other projects and chatting with some of the new friends I’ve made tends to help.

Leave a Reply

