Yaya Han Fabric Review

I decided to make Psylocke from X-Men for Denver Comic Con this year, and went with her blue outfit, rather than the others because I really wanted to try out the Yaya Han cosplay fabric collection. I had yet to even look at the collection in my local JoAnn Fabrics, so I was pretty excited to make my own decisions on the fabric. Hearing all the mixed reviews on just the cloths’ appearances alone was something I chose to ignore. And then the crazy “rash” story really made me decide to use it to prove it false, more than anything.

So, upon finding the collection in my store, I was ecstatic at all the spandex choices. There was a good variety of colors and varieties. For example, there was metallic blue spandex, blue spandex, scaled blue spandex, blue stretch vinyl, and all of those had different shades. I didn’t notice any flaking of the sheens and it said 4-way stretch, which with pull tests, proved to be accurate.

I chose the metallic blue spandex and got 2 yards for my project, which cost right around $50. This didn’t please me, as I’ve purchased fabric for a lot cheaper from local stores and otherwise, but hey, I’m on a mission.

I’ve been working on my costume for almost a month now, as with work and two other projects, my time is fairly limited. I’m almost done with the costume, so I can safely say I’ve worked with my fabric long enough to give a decent review.

The fabric is a decently thick spandex, and the metallic sheen is pressed. Yes, it does shed a tiny bit, but it is hardly noticeable until you see your hands are covered in what looks like glitter. The stretch is great for comic heroes, as you can work from all angles with it. Mistakes can still be hidden with the fabric, like stitching in the wrong place, but it’s similar to vinyl. It does show, even if only a little bit. I’ve had no reaction to the fabric and I didn’t wash it, and believe me, with my allergies, I would’ve had one. It looks amazing with finished pieces, as the sheen adds a whole new level to accentuating your figure.

Overall, I love this fabric. It’s easy to work with, and definitely provides the proper stretch and movement needed for superhero costumes. My only complaint? The price is a little high, but I’ve seen worse.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

