Choosing to do a Cosplay Group

So, one of my major things I love doing for conventions is joining cosplay groups. However, over the years, I’ve learned that you don’t want to get carried away with what you volunteer for. I had a year where I had to bust out 4 different costumes in only a few months to fulfill the groups I signed up for… and even then, half the other people didn’t do them.

Basically, just remember, while it’s fun, don’t stress yourself out. I usually choose characters I really want to make, group or not. I also work with everyone to at least attempt to match fabrics if they’re all supposed to look the same (think Love Live! or Sailor Moon). This alone can be a blast because you can easily do meet-ups if it’s local, or have some fun Skype sessions! I also love sending one another progress photos so it keeps everyone motivated! Give yourself plenty of time for your project!

Always remember to also trouble-shoot if you’re having problems. Part of the fun of group costumes is learning and teaching new things from others. Go those few extra steps to really make it something special, but know your time frame. REMEMBER, IT’S SUPPOSED TO BE FUN!

When the convention or meet-up time arrives, forget the stress you may have felt (especially towards the end) and enjoy the time around your friends. Get those photos and those memories!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choosing to do a Cosplay Group

  1. 4pointShop says:

    we would like to speak with you about your site working with us

Leave a Reply

