Cosplay Melee Episode 1 Review

Ok, guys, after the Heroes of Cosplay mess, I was less than thrilled to hear about another SyFy show about cosplayers coming to the airwaves. I had friends posting they’d be on it, and that it was more like the show Face Off, but I was still very anxious about it.

Holy poop, I was wrong. The show features 4 cosplayers per episode and they construct props for a prompt. One cosplayer gets eliminated, then the final three make a full costume from the prompt. The judges are varied… One’s a super fan, another is a cosplay model, and the last is a studio creator.

I was blown away by the constructive criticism from the judges being actually useful, followed by the actual pieces made by each cosplayer. The fact the winner is congratulated by the other contestants made me ecstatic and tear up. THAT is what I’ve experienced at competitions that has kept me in this community so long. The appreciation and love from others. THAT is what should be shown on television.

While I don’t want to go into a ton of details, as I don’t want to spoil for anyone who has yet to watch the episode… DO IT. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

Thanks SyFy, for doing the community right this time. I’ll be looking forward to episode 2!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

