Photographer Interview with Night Life Cosplay/Photography

Night Life Cosplay/Photography is a newer photographer from Ohio, who loves capturing memories in beautiful pictures!

Night Life Cosplay/Photography, photo by Kat Hood

Night Life Cosplay/Photography, photo by Kat Hood

How many years have you been into photography and what got you into cosplay photography?
I’ve been taking pictures for as long as I could hold a camera. My first real camera was an old 110 I got from my grandma, and when that broke, my mom gave me one just like it to replace it. Fast forward to now, and my lovely digital. I don’t have much cosplay photography under my belt as of yet, but I started being a cosplayer first. Then I was a photographer. You could say my first real gig was doing group pictures for Last Chance Myu during the 2012 AWA show.

What regions do you usually cover, and do you charge for photoshoots? Also, how does one get in contact to shoot with you?
Mostly Southern Ohio, and Kentucky. But have camera, will travel.

Corey and Arlie, photo by Night Life Cosplay/Photography

Corey and Arlie, photo by Night Life Cosplay/Photography

What type of photoshoots do you prefer and why?
I love, love, love doing portrait work. It’s like capturing a little moment and keeping it alive forever. Whether it be glamorous, basic, or cosplay.

What is some of your favorite equipment you work with and why?
I like my current camera for the time being. But I am always seeing what I could update to, and could probably use a new lens. It’s simple and easy to work with (for someone like me, who I still consider a beginner) and despite that I think I’ve pulled out some great work. And as dumb as it sounds, I won’t say what I use because I hate the “my Nikon is better than your Canon” or “my Canon is better than your Nikon” arguments.

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I currently have a project in the works to do a peacock themed photoshoot with a good friend of mine. At this moment we are just waiting for it to not rain on us. Also, if I could ever make it out to Colorado to document Kinmoku Revolution’s stuff I would jump on that in a heartbeat. And of course, anyone else in that direction.

Kirstin, photo by Night Life Cosplay/Photography

Kirstin, photo by Night Life Cosplay/Photography

What are some of the traits you like to see in other photographers and who do you think does them well?
I like a photographer who loves the art of it; someone who appreciates the effort and imagination involved, remembering that the costume and character is the focus. A person who takes EVERYTHING into consideration when taking a picture. One time I was modeling and I got the pictures back (he was a seasoned professional to boot) I was like, “why didn’t they tell me my wig was crooked?!” The model appreciates that for sure – in my experience – and it makes a better picture. I personally look up to my girl Kat Hood. I personally think she encompasses all of these things. If I could, I think I’d stick her in my pocket and carry her around to all my future projects! Plus, she has taught me to be a better photographer.

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I look at it with the eyes of a child, I think. I look around and see myself amazed by the creativity I get surrounded by. I just want to take pictures of everything! It’s like my proof I saw it, that it was real.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
From a photographer standpoint? I want to walk by a man/woman with a camera and not think, “Yup that chick has huge boobs,” and then look closer and see I’m right. If that makes any sense. Take picture of the art, for crying out loud. Not the body.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into photography?
Capture EVERYTHING. Nothing is insignificant.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
So far, my favorite has been AWA. Otakon was fun, but I really had the opportunity to work my art at AWA working with the LCM girls.

Aubrey, photo by Night Life Cosplay/Photography

Aubrey, photo by Night Life Cosplay/Photography

Thanks for the interview, Night Life Cosplay/Photography! To check out her work and contact her for a shoot, you can check out her Facebook!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

