The Dangers of Kickstarter

Well, this post was definitely one that was going to happen. With the rise of websites such as Kickstarter, Indiegogo, and others, cosplay projects are finding new and interesting ways of being funded. But, this is not necessarily a good thing.

I love seeing the variety of projects people have come up with to portray their (and possibly others’) creativity. I love reading the progress of each project and seeing how things become the finalized piece. Heck, occasionally I jump in and fund a project with words of encouragement.

What I don’t like seeing? People using these sites to make a profit. Cosplayers these days are a dime a dozen. I could piece together a calendar of lovely ladies or gorgeous guys and reap in the cash. I have a problem with people doing things like this, or similar to, and the money given is purely for their gain. I’m a firm believer the money should go to charity or educational purposes. Things like “Cosplayers for a Cause” or books portraying various cosplayers throughout the world, or just certain areas, are something I back. Money goes to charity or teaches outsiders what cosplay is and invites them to experience the community in an educational way.

It boils down to the fact people spend their money how they wish to, which is perfectly fine, as that is their choice. I’m just a firm believer that if people are willing to support big projects in this community, it should be something that can enrich it. ❤

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dangers of Kickstarter

  1. Pingback: Link Roundup 8/13/2013: Hyperlooping the Kickstarter And More - Muse Hack

  2. Raj Kumar says:

    very interesting

Leave a comment