Interview with Miss_Misa

It’s time for another interview, this time with Miss_Misa! She’s a relatively new cosplayer from Spain, who is quite the talented girl!

Miss_Misa out of costume

What’s your cosplay alias and why did you choose it?
My cosplay alias is Miss_Misa on most websites, I chose this name years ago because I loved Misa Misa from Death Note.

How many years have you been cosplaying and what got you started?
I’ve been cosplaying for 5 years more or less, but just a few months ago I made a new start. I decided I wanted to make my cosplays on my own, and now I’m learning how to sew. Most of my old cosplays were bought on eBay or sewn by my neighbor tailor, and I only styled wigs, made props and other little works.

I think I just became a real cosplayer, so I consider myself a newbie in cosplay. I want to learn so many new things, it’s so amusing!

Miss_Misa as Yagyu Jubei from Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Girls, photo by Pedro Cardete

What has been some of your favorite things to work with when constructing costumes and why?
I’ve worked with many materials while making props. I used PVC tubes for my Maka scythe and Yoko rifle; they are strong and very useful to make structures. You can also paint easily on them with spray paint.

I also used Fimo (a type of clay) for my Serah Farron earrings, and other little hair accessories like Yagyu Jubei’s one. It’s a very easily usable material, and anyone could use it at home. You only have to give the shape you want and put it into the oven a few minutes, so it becomes hard.

Other simple materials I’ve used have been cardboard, ropes…

What are you excited to be working with in the future and why?
I want to try again with foam, because I failed with my Yagyu Jubei shin pad’s.

I would also like to sew different fabrics, and learn a lot about sewing. It’s my weak point, but I’m improving quickly and I’m happy with that.

What are some of the traits you like to see in other costumes and who do you think does well in them?
I love great styled wigs, and very detailed cosplays. In my opinion, it’s better if you really work on little details to make your cosplay exactly like the character’s clothes rather than being perfectly sewn without being respectful with the original clothes.

There are many cosplayers that make their cosplays quickly to be the first in wearing them and don’t work on little details; I don’t like this.

Miss_Misa as Izumi Konata from Lucky Star, photo by Pedro Cardete

What is your view of the “cosplay scene”?
I think nowadays there are too many people who consider themselves a cosplayer. Even some who only bought 1 cosplay and wig on the internet.

I think to be a real cosplayer you have to work on many aspects of the costumes: Wig styling, costume sewing, working on props… that is why I think I just began being a cosplayer. I only wore costumes other people had made and completed them with accessories.

Now I’m able to sew an easy costume, to style my wigs and to make other accessories for my cosplays.

What are some of the things you want to see change in the scene?
I would like to see variety in the cosplay world. Everyone cosplays the same series and characters; it’s so boring. I think this is so because people want to be popular at conventions and if you cosplay a popular character everyone will take a picture of you.

The number of pictures is NOT relevant to know if you’re a great cosplayer.

What is some advice you could give people starting to get into cosplay?
Patience! It’s not easy to start sewing the first time. For me it’s still very difficult, I’m just making my second own-sewed cosplay.

Your friends may help you, teamwork is very useful!

And never feel shame while wearing your cosplay if you worked hard making it; be proud even if it didn’t turn out the way you planned.

What are some of your favorite conventions you’ve attended and why?
I’ve only attended Spanish conventions. For me the best ones are Salón Manga de Barcelona and Salón Manga de Jerez, because many cosplayers go there wearing their best costumes, and some of them take part in performances.

Give a random fact about one of your costumes that you’re proud of!
I love the frills of my Honma Meiko dress! It’s the costume which I’m making now, so it’s not finished yet!

Miss_Misa as Kirisame Marisa from Touhou Project!, photo by Pedro Cardete

Thanks for the interview, Miss_Misa! You can see more of her work on her Deviantart and her World Cosplay account!

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article, interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment