Judgments

I see a lot of posts about people passing judgments on others about their cosplay, specifically aimed at plus-sized cosplayers. But, there is another side to it. I’ve been targeted for being a skinny cosplayer, and I know a few others as well.

I personally will take photos with anyone. I have plus-sized friends, average friends, skinny friends, etc. I get a little irritated when my “e-fame” friends get more recognition for something store-bought that they look smashing in, and if I’m in the same image after making something, I get glanced over. I’m not well-known, I’m not statuesque, and I’m not an attention grabber. I’m a petite, skinny girl who gets told I need a sandwich.

Well, kids, give me my dang sandwich. I make costumes, I model them, and I eat like a horse. I don’t go around demanding attention, but do dislike being looked over because my little boobies aren’t hanging out. I don’t want internet fame, but I do like recognition for a job well-done on a costume. I just want people to acknowledge me for me, not me because of my size. If I do a good job, then I do a good job. Believe me, if I could gain more weight how I want, I would.

So maybe instead of being judgmental buttholes, we all stop and take a look at the craftsmanship of the costume instead of the person’s size. Big or small, we all do this hobby because we love it.

About Yunie

I am a cosplayer, a nerd, a geek. I am whatever you call me. However, I have a brain and tend to use it.
This entry was posted in article and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Judgments

  1. Dea says:

    very well said! cosplayers come in all sizes and that’s great! i know i’ve been targeted cuz i’m skinny but have a little budgy tummy (and that’s a medical thing that i can’t help).

  2. mysteriousmaemi says:

    Indeed. Not only your country but other countries experience sometimes that SAME issue.
    It is like the more skinny => boobs and butts the more they like… >_<"

Leave a Reply

